Edgar Cayce, The Sleeping Psychic, and Why I Admire Him

Edgar Cayce, The Sleeping Psychic and Why I Admire Him

Edgar Cayce was a very famous psychic medium who died in 1945.  He gave over 14,000 readings in his lifetime, and most of them were all transcribed and remain in a collection at the A.R.E. – Association for Research and Enlightenment – in Virginia Beach, Virginia.

I just completed reading “The Lost Memoirs of Edgar Cayce,” edited by A. Robert Smith.  This is Cayce’s story in his own words, and I highly recommend it for you to hear from his own thoughts how he felt about his unique ability.

As many of you may know, Edgar Cayce was able to put himself into a deep trance, and during this trance state could be asked questions (the majority of his readings focus on health, however, he later began to give “life” readings about past lives, psychic topics, and many other subjects).   The readings were recorded by a stenographer, and then typed up – one copy for the patient/client, and one copy for their archives.  Fortunately, people realized that this was valuable information and they early on began compiling the entire readings.

The Association for Research and Enlightenment – this link will tell you more about him — Association for Research & Enlightenment — is a gold mine of information about psychic development, experiences, life purpose, qualities we should try to attain, phenomena, and many other fascinating topics.  I urge you to go through it.

One thing I found extremely interesting, personally, was that during one of his readings, he was told about HIS own past lives.  And…..one of them was in France during that same time period that I also saw a “movie” in full color appear outside of me for a good ten minutes and I “saw” me and someone else dancing in a castle ballroom.  It was then that the soldiers came in and announced that the French Revolution had begun!  Cayce was there, too!   No wonder I was so drawn to the A.R.E. and to the Edgar Cayce Medical Clinic (A.R.E. Clinic) in Phoenix, Arizona, at the time I worked there.  (This is my story with that same group: Edgar Cayce Clinic Group Reincarnation Experience )

I always wondered why I was so drawn to him, his work, and the people I worked with in Phoenix – we all shared similar experiences during that French lifetime.  It made me feel more connected (and not as crazy – lol) to know that I had a reason for my attachment.

We don’t have an Edgar Cayce anymore, and most people don’t get to have “movies” appear to them in mid-air to show where they may have lived before.  I’ve been fortunate to have had many diverse psychic experiences.  But I am NO Edgar Cayce.  However, I AM grateful for his Search for God books that came from years of readings to compile information on how to live a “proper” life (that’s what I call it).   I currently still belong to an on-line A.R.E. Group, because his inspiration, information and the guidance one gets from these groups are invaluable.

Edgar Cayce’s humility, kindness, generosity, and living with poverty, is inspirational.  He easily saw “beyond” the mundane material world.  That is something I would like all people to recognize.  The material is just that:  material.  It does not go with us.  As long as we have a place to live, enough food to eat, and have friends, then you are good to go! 🙂

As for my own readings, they vary from Cayce’s.  I sometimes drop into that “not remembering” trance state, but often I am in a different trance state – one in which I can remember parts of it.

I also found it comforting to know that Cayce found it easier and more difficult to read various individuals.  Sometimes I am very critical of my own work, and I become frustrated if I find a person hard to read.  Cayce attributed this to where the person he read for was spiritually.  Sometimes I get a LOAD of information, phenomena, all kinds of things, and other times, it’s like pulling teeth (ouch!).  I wish I could predict ahead of time how a reading will go, so it made me feel better when I learned that he, too, found some people easier than others to read….maybe that is just a feature of this work.

I wish Edgar Cayce were still around.  I was fortunate enough to meet his son Hugh Lynn Cayce when I worked at the A.R.E. Clinic in Phoenix.  I was also fortunate to meet Jess Stearn, who wrote the book about Cayce:  “Edgar Cayce, the Sleeping Prophet.”  I also had a serendipitous experience when I visited the A.R.E. in Virginia Beach – but I’ll leave that for another post.

In the meantime, please explore the life of Edgar Cayce — you may find it very interesting and inspirational.  I do believe he lived God’s will, and his innate knowledge that it is not the material but the spiritual world that defines us is a good lesson for us all!

4 Comments

Filed under Psychic Medium Sharon Tenney

4 responses to “Edgar Cayce, The Sleeping Psychic, and Why I Admire Him

  1. I appreciate this post as I’m doing some investigation of Cayce but didn’t know about that autobio.

  2. Thanks to this post, I clicked thru the ARE link and found that their are people in my town that have groups focused on Edgar Cayce studies. Crazyy! Thanks!! One of the members is going to meet with me this next week =)

    • That is cool! 🙂 I belong to an on-line group, although I prefer the in-person ones, but there isn’t another one here right now. I hope you find some nice connections there. Cayce definitely was special and he intentionally set out to find how others could improve their spiritual lives and gave readings for years to create the books. Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

