How I Began Giving Mediumship Readings

BeganReadingsofDead

Many people ask me how I began to give mediumship readings.  Often people will ask if I took a class or a workshop in the topic – the answer is “No.”  They also want to know if I meditate daily and did that initiate contact – again, the answer is “No.”  Sometimes they want to know if I read Tarot Cards or Runes or things like that  — “No.”  At that point they are often stumped.

I have had abilities since I was young, and I never thought that much about it.  I once saw my black cat who had been hit by a car and killed on Halloween about a month after he died.   I thought he was really back – of course, he wasn’t.  I had a lot of individual experiences, however, I never thought to give readings, nor that I could do them if I actually had the intention.  To me, that seemed like something for more “magical” people.

This is actually the event that facilitated me doing readings “on command.”  I had just started working in a Probation Department, I was a single parent with my daughter living in the middle of the redwoods, and I was new to the area.  In our redwood home I had a computer and had dial-up (remember those days?).  We did not have access to cable where we were in the woods.

One night when my daughter was asleep, I was on the computer and browsing various forums and websites.  Suddenly, this man appeared to me in spirit.  I was a bit unbelieving at that point, but he seemed to be there.  He said, “I want to talk to Dennis.”  I could see what he was wearing and I heard him (at that point not technically clairvoyantly, but in my mind).  I told him I did not know Dennis.  He repeated, “I want to talk to Dennis.”

I went to my new job the next day and my office was directly next to the Chief Probation Officer’s office.  I was new in town and did not know all the rules and the culture of Santa Cruz.  I had briefly met some people in the department and had heard names – one of them was “Dennis.”  Dennis worked in a different building in town.  He worked at the jail, and I worked at the main office building downtown.  He would occasionally come to our building, but I never talked to him.  At least I knew he was someone named Dennis!

For the next three days at my desk, each time I’d relax or close my eyes, this man would appear again and say, “I want to talk to Dennis!”  Well, you can imagine my dismay to have a new job in a law enforcement office and to have this spirit pestering me without me knowing Dennis!  This went on for three days.  Each time he could break through he’d say, “I want to speak to Dennis.”  He was persistent!

Finally, on the third day he appeared, I answered him – in my mind because I know they can hear you when you speak silently to them – don’t ask me how they can, because that part I don’t know – I guess some form of telepathy.  I said, “I just started this new job, my office is next to the Chief’s, I don’t actually know Dennis, just who he is, so I am NOT leaving him a voicemail, I am NOT sending him an email, and I am NOT telling the receptionist!  If YOU want to talk to him, then YOU will have to find a way on YOUR side to reach him for me – I am not risking my new job!”  And I was very, very firm.

Well…..the very next morning I was parking behind our building when a man pulled in next to me – it was DENNIS!  I told the spirit, “Okay, you did it, you set it up.”  Dennis, apparently, parked in that lot and then walked to the jail building.  So, once I saw it was him, I didn’t know how to approach him.  As he was going through the trunk of his car, I acknowledged him and started some polite chit-chat.  Eventually I moved the conversation into more philosophical things, and then I asked if he had any interest in parapsychology.  To my surprise he answered, “Actually, I do.  I even thought of going to school for it.”  Well, that was it, and I said to Dennis, “Then I have a message for you.”  I began describing this man, what he was wearing, down to the 100% cotton (how I knew that, I don’t know, but that’s what he was wearing).  It ended up being his ex-partner who had died about a year and a half before.  I was stunned.

At that point Dennis then excitedly asked if I would do a reading for him.  I told him I did not do readings.  In fact, I didn’t even know HOW to give a reading.  He pleaded with me to try.  I finally gave in and said I would, but that I had no idea how in the world I could just sit there and “make it happen.”

We met for lunch in his office in the basement.  I had no clue what to do.  So, I thought maybe I needed to hold an object.  I had recalled when I lived in Seattle holding a piece of jewelry for someone and it seems they may have asked me to do some psychometry.  I told them what I saw, which was an older woman who was ironing with one of those old-fashioned, non-electrical irons and it caught fire and she died.  The man told me that it was his grandmother, and, indeed, she did die that way.  I figured what did I have to lose?  So, I asked Dennis for his watch.

I tried to relax (I’m not very good at relaxing – lol), and I then “pretended” to look around him for an “aura.”  Frankly, I had no idea what I was doing.  Then suddenly these images and information started to come to me in my head.  I don’t know how, but there they were.  I relayed the information and Dennis confirmed them for me.  I figured, “Okay, I did the reading, he seems okay about it, and that’s that.”  Well, it wasn’t.

About a day or two later, Dennis appeared at my office door (the one right next to the Chief!) and mouthed, “Jeannie needs a reading.”  I was like, “WHAT??”  I whispered, “I told you not to tell anyone!”  And he repeated, “But she REALLY needs a reading!”  I was appalled at the time.  I did not want to risk losing my job!  He kept persisting, and I finally relented because I couldn’t make him leave…

Then I arranged to meet Jeannie, a woman who worked in another area of the building.  I sat in an office with her and again took something to hold.  I did the same “pretend” thing, and suddenly these people appeared to me!  One was her father and the other her sister-in-law.  I described them, their personality and the information they wanted to convey.  At the end she was crying and so grateful.  I was stunned.  How could I just sit and it would happen??

THEN….Jeannie had my name and number on a sheet of paper after our session and it said, “medium” on it.  I told her to immediately put it into her desk drawer out of sight.  Later she called me and said, “I’m so sorry – I didn’t get a chance to put it into the drawer when Lynn came in [a probation officer] and said, ‘I didn’t know Sharon did that.’”  Well, I was upset!  Suddenly there were THREE people who knew about me.  I did not want people to know.  This woman, Lynn, kept asking me for a reading.  I did not want to read for her.  She seemed cold and distant and not friendly.  She kept asking.  I knew nothing about her, and I was not about to ask anyone else, as I was still new, and I did not want people to know about me.  She kept asking for months!  I had set up so many hurdles for her, including that it had to be at lunch time, it had to be off-site, and I think I asked for a sandwich (silly, yeah, but I knew I’d need lunch). [Of course, she is now one of my favorite people in the world! She is really funny, loving, kind and generous!]

She came through.  Lynn set up a lunchtime meeting at her friend’s apartment off-site.  I didn’t think she’d actually set it up, but she did.  I felt cornered.  She drove me to her friend’s house, and by then we only had about twenty minutes. (I think it was then that I did not ask for an object to hold, and afterwards realized I did not need an object to receive information.)

As I sat down, I quickly felt my left ear and fingered it.  I could feel the man next to me and he felt like her father and I began to describe what I saw.  [For complete details, go to my website and look under the notarized affidavits of accuracy and hers is the first one with the autopsy report.]  I remember a few other people coming through, but I often do forget what I say, which is why I advise people to take notes or record their readings.

I thought maybe I was hallucinating Lynn’s reading.  I had no idea what I was talking about.  She drove me back to the office building, and NEVER SAID A WORD.  I was freaked out by this point because she didn’t say ANYTHING to me – stone silence.  I figured I had made a huge mistake, why did I agree to this, what was wrong with me??  I was sure I made it all up.

Two days later, Lynn came to my office door and was holding some sheets of paper.  She is a probation officer – a law enforcement enforcer – and I was scared.  I asked her what the papers were and she wouldn’t tell me – she just said, “Read them.”  I thought she actually had a warrant for my arrest!  I really did!  She handed me the sheets and to my surprise they were the pages of her father’s autopsy report!  On it she had highlighted the areas that I had described, including the torn ear.  She said that was something that had always bothered her.  I also had described the cause of death precisely.  Now, I was the amazed one!  I felt both relief and confirmation.

This was about 15 years ago.   I am still giving readings.  I was part of the “underground” in the county for people who did mediumship.  I never wanted to advertise it to everyone.  As you all know, word-of-mouth is very strong, so there were people who were frequently referred to me.  It was only when I retired last year that I put up my website at the urging of those who had sat with me in Probation, and finally made myself public.  I am now close friends with Lynn and Dennis and Julie and many others I was so fortunate to meet there.

So, that is how I started giving readings.  No workshop, no classes, just spirits who for some reason can use my body and mind to let me feel, hear and see them.  I do think it takes a natural ability to be able to connect in this way.  I am not involved in the psychic/New Age community here – I am still pretty low-key and don’t announce that is what I do, unless I feel “safe” and comfortable around someone.  To see me, you would most likely never guess this is what I do.

As for Dennis, he and I are both now retired and occasionally meet for lunch.  He is a good friend and I adore him!  I have made good friends with a number of people from law enforcement through my readings with them.  I think it’s good to read for people who are firmly entrenched in down-to-earth basics.   I am very down-to-earth, too, so it was a good combination for me.

I thank all the people in Probation and the Courts and other people referred to me.  If I had not had your confidence and belief in what I do, I would not be sharing with others now.  It is you and your loved ones who have given me the chance to serve and help others.  Thank you!

4 Comments

Filed under Psychic Medium Sharon Tenney

4 responses to “How I Began Giving Mediumship Readings

  1. Reblogged this on Soul Magnitude and commented:
    Thank you Sharon Tennon for sharing this story of yours. A lovely read, and funny, too.

Leave a Reply

